Saturday, July 10, 2010

A friend of mine from Oklahoma brought his little sister to the city this weekend to show her around and I met up with them Saturday to hang out.  It ended up being a really fun day.

From the start of the day, it appeared that it would rain very soon and the weather report called for 40% chance of rain.  Because of this, we were a little reluctant to plan a day outside but it never rained and we did end up keeping with our original outside plans.  I met them at Grand Central Station and we took the subway downtown and got off real close to the World Trade Centers.

I only got one picture of the WTC site itself, this is the South East corner of the site.


We didn’t have plans to see anything in particular but we walked from the WTC to Battery Park where we got a glimpse of the Statue of Liberty.  Because my friend’s little sister is a picky eater, they looked up some restaurants online and decided on a German restaurant in TriBeCa called Blaue Gans.  I’m not sure what it is about Germany specifically that makes me want to visit so badly, but I was very thrilled to hear that we were going to eat at a real German restaurant.  In New York City, it’s not hard to find real authentic style places to visit and eat at, and Blaue Gans certainly is no exception.

Blaue Gans is located on Duane St between Broadway and Church, approximately five blocks directly North of the World Trade Centers site.  Walking by on the street, one would have no clue what a real gem they are walking past, and we even missed seeing the restaurant on our first pass.

When I think of schnitzel I always think of a hot dog like food because that’s how wiener schnitzel is served sometimes, but I never knew what real schnitzel was until this past weekend.  I ordered a beef sirloin schnitzel with wild arugula and shaved parmesan and it was hands down the best meal I have eaten since I’ve been in NYC.  Granted I haven’t eaten at too many nice restaurants and I don’t drop $30 on a plate of food very often (OK, so I didn’t pay but still..), but I’m confident it’ll remain one of the best meals for a while to come.



Other pictures from the day:

http://kg-ny.com/

http://www.yelp.com/biz/blaue-gans-new-york

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Schnitzel

2 Responses to Saturday, July 10, 2010

  1. Branden says:

    Hey, the pictures turned out well, even the half eaten schnitzel! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed dinner and had a nice afternoon. I know Carley and I did too. You’ll have to head back to Blaue Gans sometime and try some of their more traditional German food too…

Leave a Reply

