New York City

I’m not keeping up with my blog near as much as I would like, however, I am finally getting settled in here in New York City and I’m going to start making more time for writing and photography.

I’ve never spent more than a week in NYC and I’ve always thought it’s definitely no place that I would like to live.  And for the most part I still feel that way, but I have this overwhelming sense of opportunity here in the city.  I feel like there’s the chance of me being successful and doing something that I love and being able to make a living off of it, whereas, back in Tampa (or most other places even) I feel like it’d be very difficult to establish something on my own.

I’m incredibly lucky to have been given a chance at the company that I am working for and I’m enjoying this internship very much.  It took me about two weeks to really settle in and feel a part of the group and I really feel like I can contribute and that my ideas are valued.  Sure, I am still the lowest on the totem pole and was asked to change some light bulbs today, but I’m learning so much about property management and real estate in general.  I have a LONGGGG ways to go, but I don’t feel like I’m wasting my time.

New York City is such a nasty, dirty, grimy city and I can’t imagine myself living here long term, but I feel like by spending a few years here I can propel myself into a good future.

(stay tuned for a few pieces I’m working on…)

Leave a Reply

